2020 Election – President-Elect and Division Chairs

The candidates for all positions except Band Division Chair are running unopposed and will be accepted by acclamation at the LMEA Board of Directors meeting, May 16, 2020.

Election.  There will be an election for Band Division Chair that will open March 1, 2020 and close March 15, 2020 (midnight). This will be an online election and will require a login to vote. Active members will be sent a link prior to March 1. If you have trouble logging in, please contact us immediately for help at lmea@lmeamusic.org or contact Sharon McNamara-Horne at sharon.mcnamarahorne@gmail.com.

Runoff.  If it is necessary to hold a runoff, it will open March 20, 2020 and close April 1, 2020 (midnight). The same online procedure will be followed.

Term.  All newly-elected board members will begin their term during the May LMEA Board of Directors meeting once the votes are officially accepted (New Business).

These are the candidates who have been nominated for Band Division Chair (bios and pictures are available): 

  • Ronnie Gleason (Band Director at Kaplan High School, District 3)
  • Ty Lege (Band Director at Tioga High School, District 2)
  • Tim McMillen (Band Director at Sulphur High School, District 5)

The following candidates are running unopposed and will be accepted by acclamation at the May LMEA Board of Directors meeting.

President-Elect:  Brett Babineaux (current board member, District 3 Director)Vocal Division Chair:  Greg Oden (current board member, District 1)Orchestra Division Chair:  Katrice LaCour (current Orchestra Chair)Jazz Division Chair:  Lee Hicks (current Jazz Chair)University Division Chair:  Victor Drescher (current University Chair)Elementary Division Chair:  Michele White (current Elementary Chair)Collegiate Division Chair:  Ed McClellan (current Collegiate Chair)Public Relations Chair:  Carolyn Herrington (current Public Relations Chair)